Reconstituted House Committees: BJP retains key panels; Sharma de Cong stays at home, head of Tharoor’s computer panel

Despite pressure from some BJP members to replace him, Congressman Shashi Tharoor will continue to chair the parliamentary information technology panel, with the committees reconstituted more than three weeks after the end of their terms.

BJP senior leader and former Bihar deputy CM Sushil Kumar Modi has been appointed chairman of the Standing Committee on Personnel, Public Grievances, Law and Justice. All other existing presidents have been retained.

The BJP continues to chair key committees, with the exception of Home Affairs, which will continue to be chaired by Congress leader Anand Sharma.

Rajiv Ranjan Singh, newly elected chairman of JD (U), will be the new chairman of the Standing Committee on Energy. Although there has been speculation that there could be major changes in the panels, Rajya Sabha Chairman Mr. Venkaiah Naidu and Lok Sabha Chairman Om Birla have more or less retained the composition of the panels. panels.

Newly elected Rajya Sabha deputies were appointed to the reconstituted committees. However, their composition changed, as some of the members had been inducted into the Union’s Council of Ministers when the cabinet was enlarged on July 7.

Ravi Shankar Prasad, who was sacked from Cabinet, was housed in the House finance panel, chaired by Jayant Sinha. Prakash Javadekar and Harsh Vardhan, also excluded from the Cabinet, are on the External Affairs panel, headed by PP Choudhary.

The IT committee has been caught up in controversy on several occasions during its last term, with BJP MPs opposing the panel’s decisions to summon Facebook over allegations against the social media giant for ignoring hate speech by some BJP leaders. During the monsoon session, Dubey filed a notice of lien against Tharoor after the IT panel attempted to tackle the controversial Pegasus spyware issue.

Tharoor had also given a notice of breach of privilege against Dubey, alleging that the latter had made “derogatory remarks” on social media about his decision to convene a panel to discuss the alleged “fault” of Facebook.

Jairam Ramesh, Congressman, will lead the panel on science and technology and the environment, and forests and climate change.

Congress chief Rahul Gandhi remains on the defense committee, headed by BJP chief Jual Oram. Ramesh Bidhuri, BJP MP for South Delhi, will lead the oil and natural gas panel, Jagadambika Pal continues to serve as the chair of the urban development panel. Vinay Sahasrabuddhe, member of BJP Rajya Sabha, retains the chairmanship of the education committee; Radha Mohan Singh from the Railway Committee and Sanjay Jaiswal from the Water Resources Panel.

BJP leaders Rama Devi lead panel on social justice and empowerment; PC Gaddigoudar the Committee on Agriculture; Rakesh Singh the Coal and Steel Committee, and TG Venkatesh heads the Transport, Tourism and Culture Committee.

The labor panel is chaired by Bhartruhari Mehtab of BJD; Rural development by Prataprao Jadhav of Shiv Sena; the Food, Consumer and Public Distribution Committee by Sudhip Bandypadhyay of TMC; Chemicals and Fertilizers by K Kanimozhi of DMK; TRS’s K Keshava Rao chairs the industry committee; the Health panel is chaired by Ram Gopal Yadav of SP; and V Vijayasai Reddy of the YSRCP continues to lead the Parliamentary Committee on Trade.

Some members have been transferred to new committees. As Sanjay Raut de Sena moved from Defense to External Affairs, his party colleagues Anil Desai moved from Coal and Steel to Trade, and Priyanka Chaturvedi from Trade to Transport, Tourism and Culture.

Manoj Kumar Jha of the RJD has been transferred from the railways to the labor committee, Shaktisinh Gohil of the Congress from IT to Transport. Likewise, Abhishek Singhvi of Congress was moved from the home defense panel; and TMC’s Derek O’Brien, who was a member of the transport panel, was transferred to the home affairs panel.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Post

Ormie King: Honoring the 2021 Auburn Sports Hall of Fame Induction Class | Story

Born in Columbus, Ohio, Tamela ray graduated from Union Springs Central School in 1978. Upon graduation, Tamela received her bachelor’s degree in physical education with a minor in sociology from Ithaca College. While studying in Ithaca, Ray also played for the women’s field hockey team and was a member of […]

Subscribe US Now