Wednesday, September 14 2022

Mollie O’Callaghan named Australia’s Olympic Program Swimmer of the Year at the Glittering Awards ceremony in Sydney

teenage feeling Mollie O’Callaghan beat a field of stars tonight to be crowned Australia’s Olympic Swimmer of the Year at a scintillating awards ceremony in Sydney tonight.

A night that saw the inaugural induction of five swimming legends Freddie Lane (Dolphin #1), Fanny Durac (Dolphin #9), Dawn Fraser (Dolphin #86), Shane Gould (Dolphin #214) and Ian Thorpe (Dolphin #494) in the Swimming Australia Hall of Fame.

An honor that may well one day await the 18-year-old from St Peters Western in Brisbane who capped off a stellar 12 months by winning her first World and Commonwealth Games gold medals in the 100m freestyle ribbon events blue.

Fittingly, an event that saw Durack become the first-ever swimming gold medalist in Stockholm in 1912 and Fraser become the first Olympian to win three consecutive events – the 100m freestyle in 1956, 1960 and 1964.

O’Callaghan’s successes in 2022 came after a golden Olympic apprenticeship where she swam in the Australian gold medal heats winning the 4x100m freestyle and medley relays.

And it was not long before she launched an international individual career in a group of Australian freestylers who conquered the world.

In 2022, the name ‘Mollie O’ became the name of so many swimming lips – as she joined other stars Emma McKeon, Ariane Titmus, Kaylee McKeown, Zac Stubblety-Cook and Elie Winnington in a group of swimming superstars that captured the imagination of the Australian sporting public.

She became Australia’s last world champion in Budapest – joining the likes of Jodie Henry, Libby Trickett and Kate and Bronte Campbell as winners of the 100m freestyle and the coveted Swimmer of the Year award.

In a remarkable rise for O’Callaghan, her successes in 2022 included 13 medals at the FINA World Championships and the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham, becoming the youngest woman in 30 years to win the World 100m Freestyle Championship when he won the NNicole Haislett won the title in Perth in 1991 and was also a member of two world record relay teams.

AND THE WINNER IS: Rowan Crothers, Australian Swimmer of the Year. Courtesy of Delly Carr (Swimming Australia).

Joining O’Callaghan on the top step of the podium was Rowan Crothers Paralympic Swimmer of the Yearwho had a year in which the boy from Brisbane’s Yeronga Park established himself as the world’s fastest disabled male sprinter, securing the 50 and 100m freestyle double at the World Para Swimming Championships in Madeira, Portugal.

In 2020, Crothers won his first Paralympic gold medal and he quickly became one of the faces of Australia’s Paralympic programme.

In other awards, Noosa’s Nicholas Sloman had been named The wide swimmer of the year after completing the 5km/10km double at the Australian Championships before an impressive three-race campaign at the Open Water World Championships in Budapest in June.

dean boxall were both crowned Olympic and Youth Coach of the Year next to Kate Sparkes as the Paralympic Coach of the Yearwhile Sloman’s coach John Rodgers won their fourth consecutive game Open Water Coach of the Year award.

William Yang and Sam Shorts were also named co-winners of the AIS discovery of the year after their breakthrough campaigns at the FINA World Championships in Budapest.

Other winners of the evening included Phil Jobling as Roger Smith Technical Official of the Year, the Immanuel Piranhas Swimming Club as Club of the Year and Emy Simsic of the Geelong Swimming Club as Local Legend of the Year.

CEO of Swimming Australia, Eugenie Buckley, praised the Dolphins star trio for their incredible accomplishments.

“We are immensely proud of all that Rowan, Mollie and Nicholas have achieved this year and fortunate to have ambassadors for our sport like them who represent the commitment, excellence and humility so essential to being a Dolphin.” , Buckley said.

“Their accolades reflect the collective success of our Dolphins teams during this incredible year, including our most successful away Commonwealth Games campaign on record and a piece of history in Portugal which saw our Championship team in the world to become Australia’s first traveling swimming team where every eligible athlete returned home with a medal.

“This team continues to set the standard and in doing so inspires the next generation of Dolphins and for that they deserve our admiration and respect. Tonight was a fitting celebration of all our athletes have accomplished, together with their coaches and support staff, while representing us with such pride on the international stage.

Swimming Australia 2022 Award Winners

Olympic program swimmer of the year
Mollie O’Callaghan
Nominees: Kaylee McKeown, Zac Stubblety-Cook and Elijah Winnington

Paralympic Program Swimmer of the Year
Rowan Crother
Nominees: Katja Dedekind and Paige Leonhardt

Open Water Program Swimmer of the Year
Nick Sloman
Nominees: Moesha Johnson, Bailey Armstrong and Chelsea Gubecka

AIS Discovery of the Year
Will Yang and Sam Short
Nominees: Alex Saffy and Lani Pallister

Olympic Program Coach of the Year
dean boxall

Paralympic Program Coach of the Year
Kate Sparkes

Open Water Coach of the Year
John Rodgers

Roger Smith Technical Official of the Year
Phil Jobling

club of the year
Immanuel Piranhas Swim Club Inc (IMSC)

Local Legend of the Year
Emy Simsic

Inaugural inductions into the Australian Swimming Hall of Fame
Fred Lane, Fanny Durack, Dawn Fraser, Shane Gould, Ian Thorpe,


Inside the Rise of Expensive Pawnbrokers – and Affordable Alternatives


Sam Gaze falls at the UCI Mountain Bike World Championships

Check Also